• Welcome

    History comes alive at the San Mateo County History Museum
  • Ohlone-Portolá Heritage Trail

    Spanish Discovery of San Francisco Bay, painting by Morton Künstler, SMCHA.
  • School Programs

    Registration for the 2019-2020 School Year Starts April 15!
  • Exhibits

    Explore the county's rich and colorful history!
  • Rent the Museum

    Make your own history!

San Mateo County Historical Sites

Your journey through San Mateo County history doesn't need to end at the Museum.
Explore all of our historical sites!

Upcoming Events

For a full list of events, see our Event Calendar.

Saturday, July 27, 2019 - 2:00pm
Friday, August 2, 2019 - 10:00am
Saturday, August 3, 2019 - 11:00am
Saturday, August 3, 2019 - 7:00pm
Sunday, August 4, 2019 - 1:00pm
Sunday, August 4, 2019 - 2:30pm
Saturday, August 10, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, August 11, 2019 - 10:00am
Saturday, August 17, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, August 18, 2019 - 11:00am
Saturday, August 24, 2019 - 10:30am
Sunday, August 25, 2019 - 1:00pm

Support us by shopping at our stores

Looking for a unique gift or memento? The Museum Store offers a wonderful collection of gifts to remind you of your visit to San Mateo County.

Museum Store

Shop Now

Encore Books

Visit the Store