• Welcome

    History comes alive at the San Mateo County History Museum
  • Peninsula at War!

    San Mateo County's World War II Legacy
  • School Programs

    Registration for the 2018-2019 school year starts April 15, 2018!
  • Exhibits

    Explore the county's rich and colorful history!
  • Rent the Museum

    Make your own history!

San Mateo County Historical Sites

Your journey through San Mateo County history doesn't need to end at the Museum.
Explore all of our historical sites!

Upcoming Events

For a full list of events, see our Event Calendar.

Saturday, July 21, 2018 - 10:30am
Sunday, July 22, 2018 - 10:00am
Saturday, July 28, 2018 - 10:30am
Friday, August 3, 2018 - 10:00am
Saturday, August 4, 2018 - 11:00am
Saturday, August 4, 2018 - 1:00pm
Saturday, August 4, 2018 - 7:00pm
Sunday, August 5, 2018 - 1:00pm
Sunday, August 5, 2018 - 1:00pm
Sunday, August 5, 2018 - 3:00pm
Saturday, August 11, 2018 - 10:00am
Saturday, August 11, 2018 - 1:30pm
Sunday, August 12, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, August 19, 2018 - 11:00am
Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 6:00pm

Support us by shopping at our stores

Looking for a unique gift or memento? The Museum Store offers a wonderful collection of gifts to remind you of your visit to San Mateo County.

Museum Store

Shop Now

Encore Books

Visit the Store